Phiri shocked to be among the best T20 players

21 Jan, 2022 - 00:01 0 Views
Phiri shocked to be among the best T20 players Loryn “MaNcane” Phiri


Innocent Kurira
TWO days after making history not only for herself but the country as a whole, Lady Chevrons  bowler Loryn “MaNcane” Phiri is still trying to come to terms with what she has achieved.

The 23-year-old made history by being included in the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20I Team of the year for 2021.

Phiri played nine T20I matches for Zimbabwe, and claimed 16 wickets, including best figures of 5/6. Her bowling average was 7.18.

The 23-year-old spinner could not hide her excitement while speaking to B-metro sport.

“I am overwhelmed, shocked to say the least.

When l got the news l didn’t know what to do.

l just stood there and told one of my teammates the news.

I really l wanted to cry.

“I am happy about what l have achieved.

I am still processing, but I am grateful for the recognition that means so much to be recognised amongst the best in the world.

“This is a team sport.

So l really appreciate the technical stuff and everyone who contributed in making all this possible.

All this would not be possible if it was not the work of the Almighty,” said Phiri.

Phiri grew up in Bulawayo’s Emakhandeni suburb where she played the game at Emakhandeni Cricket Club before eventually finding her way into the national team.

She made her T20I debut on January 5  2019, when Zimbabwe played against Namibia.

In October 2021, Phiri was named in Zimbabwe’s Women’s One Day International (WODI) squad for their four-match series against Ireland.

The fixtures were the first ODI matches after Zimbabwe also gained WODI status from the ICC in April 2021 She made her ODI debut on 5 October 2021, for Zimbabwe against Ireland.

In November 2021, she was named in Zimbabwe’s team for the 2021 Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournament in Zimbabwe.

At this time of the year the ICC acknowledges the best players who entertained one and all with their performances in a calendar year.

Women: Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Danni Wyatt (England), Gaby Lewis (Ireland), Nat Sciver (c) (England), Amy Jones (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Loryn Phiri (Zimbabwe), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).
Men: Jos Buttler (England), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan), Aiden Markram (South Africa) , Mitchell Marsh (Australia), David Miller (South Africa), Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Wanindu Hasanranga (Sri Lanka) , Mustafizur Rahaman (Bangladesh, Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

Share This:

Sponsored Links