McCoy Mrubata honoured with a SAMA lifetime achievement accolade

31 Aug, 2022 - 11:08 0 Views
McCoy Mrubata honoured with a SAMA lifetime achievement accolade


Langalakhe Mabena

South African Jazz saxophonist McCoy Mrubata who has over four decades in the music scene, was among greats who were honoured with the lifetime achievement gongs at the 2022 South African Music Awards (SAMAs).

The awards were held at Sun City on 27 and 28 August.

Joe Nina and Jimmy Dludlu were also honoured with lifetime achievement awards.

Mrubata, who is scheduled to perform in Bulawayo at the Spring Feelings Jazz Concert on 22 on 3 September alongside Cool Crooners, Keely Rusike and Jazz Invitation, to mention a few, said he was honoured to have been greatly recognised at the SAMAs.

He also said he was looking forward to his local gig which is organised by Big Scale Entertainment.

“Everything went well at the SAMAs; I received my lifetime achievement award. I got so much support and congratulatory messages are flooding in from all over the world.

“The focus now is on my coming event which will be held in Bulawayo. I urge jazz fanatics to come in numbers as I have a splendid performance that I have arranged for them,” said Mrubata from his base in Johannesburg.

Below is the full list of winners:

Album of the Year

Musique by Chymamusique

Best Duo or Group of the Year

Reece Madlisa & Zuma – Ama Roto Vol.2

Best Female Artist of the Year

Msaki – Platinum Heart Open

Best Male Artist of the Year

Chymamusique –­ Musique

Best Selling Artist

Young Stunna ­–­ Notumato

White Star Newcomer of the Year

Khanyisile Mthetwa ­– African Bird

Best Hip-Hop Album

Blxckie – B4Now

Best Collaboration

Zakes Bantwini and Kasango ­– ‘Osama’

Best Amapiano Album

Young Stunna – Notumato

TECNO Record of the Year

Musa Keys ft. Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakazi – ‘Vula Mlomo’

TECNO Music Video of the Year

Makhadzi ft. Prince Benza – ‘Ghanama’

SAMPRA Artist of the Year

Haksul MUZIQ

TikTok Most Viral Song of the Year

9umba & TOSS & Mdoovar ­– ‘uMlando’

Samro Highest Radio Airplay Composers Award

Zakes Bantwini – ‘Osama’

CAPASSO Most Streamed Song of the Year

Kabza De Small & DJ Maphorisa ft. Ami Faku – ‘Abalele’

International Achiever Award

Black Coffee

Lifetime Achiever Award

Joe Nina

Jimmy Dludlu

McCoy Mrubata

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Msaki – Platinum Heart Open

Best Classical/Instrumental Album

Khanyisile Mthetwa – African Bird

Best African Adult Contemporary Album

Mandisi Dyantyis – Cwaka

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Die Heuwels Fantasties – Volume

Best Traditional Album

Dr Mercy Masakona Madzivhandila – Tshihwilili Tshanga

Best Reggae Album

Reign Afrika – Trailblazer

Best Jazz Album

Jimmy Dludlu – History In A Frame

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Pulane Maphari – Sacrificial Worship (Live)

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Vela Nkosi – Jumbo

Best African Indigenous Faith Music Album

NUZ Voices Of Joy – Similapha Nkosi

Best Maskandi Album

Thokozani Langa – Idaymani

Best Alternative Music Album

Alice Phoebe Lou – Glow

Best Rock Album

Springbok Nude Girls – Partypocalypse

Best R&B/Soul Album

Brian Temba – It’s All You

Best Pop Album

Shekhinah – Trouble In Paradise

Beste Pop Album

Posduif – Niks Vergelyk

Best Afro Pop Album

Nomfundo Moh – Amagama

Best Produced Music Video

‘When House Was House’ by Mobi Dixon feat. Mariechan and JNR SA

Best Engineered Album of the Year

It Takes Three by Charl Du Plessis Trio – Peter Auret

Rest of Africa Award

Tems – If Orange Was A Place (Nigeria)

Remix of the Year

Sun-El Musician, Azana and Da Capo – ‘Uhuru’ by Sun-El Musician and Azana

Best Kwaito Album

Ama Roto Vol.2 by Reece Madlisa and Zuma

Best Gqom Album

Umshunqo Reloaded by Dladla Mshunqisi

Best Dance Album

Musique by Chymamusique

Chairman’s Award

Yvonne Chaka Chaka


Share This:

Sponsored Links