Five D1 clubs in the red

09 Aug, 2019 - 00:08 0 Views
Five D1 clubs in the red Mehluli Thebe


Raymond Jaravaza

FIVE Zifa Southern Region clubs owe significant amounts in affiliation fees at a time the league is getting ready to start the second half of the 2019 season while only three clubs have met their financial obligations in full. 

Affiliation fees for new teams that joined the Zifa Southern league this year are pegged at $2 500, while old teams pay $2 000.

But nearly four months into the 2019 season, only three teams have paid their affiliation fees in full. 

“I don’t have the exact number but I think five clubs are in the red when it comes to paying their affiliation fees, these are the teams that owe the league a lot of money.

“The rest of the teams have paid varying amounts and just need to settle their balance in the coming weeks while only three clubs have paid their affiliation fees in full,” said league spokesman Mehluli Thebe. 

Thebe said if the rule book were to be followed, clubs that owe the league would have to be suspended forthwith but the board would leave that decision to the clubs in a mid-year meeting before the end of the month. 

“Clubs are the owners of the league and we (the board) just run it on their behalf so we will leave it to the clubs to make a resolution in the mid-year meeting on what should be done to defaulting teams. 

“The board can only remind clubs the rules and regulations governing the league but we do not want to be seen to be imposing sanctions and disciplinary action on defaulting teams without consulting the owners of the league,” added Thebe. 

The Zifa Southern Region is made up of 15 clubs after Nengasha FC of Hwange were booted out of the league for failing to fulfil three consecutive games. 

The winners of the 2019 season campaign will earn the sole ticket to the Premier Soccer League next year. 



Bulawayo City v Makomo (Luveve, 12 noon); Toronto v Bosso 90 (Crescent, 3pm); Casmyn v Indlovu Iyanyathela (Turk Mine, 3pm); Talen Vision v Arenel (Gifford High, 3pm); Mosi Rovers v ZPC Hwange (Chinotimba, 3pm); Binga Pirates v Mainline (Binga High, 3pm); Moto Moto v Ajax Hotspurs (Mpumalanga, 3pm).

Share This:

Sponsored Links