Cosafa women’s senior and Under 17 champs resume

30 Oct, 2020 - 00:10 0 Views
Cosafa women’s senior and Under 17 champs resume Sithethelelwe “Kwinji 15” Sibanda


Fungai Muderere
THE 2020 edition of Cosafa women’s senior and Under 17 championships will resume on Monday and Tuesday amid revelations that the organisers of the two events have aligned its Covid-19 media process.

The senior championship will take place from 3 to 14 November with the Under-17 competition to run concurrently from 4 to 14 November, both in Nelson Mandela Bay.

The contests will become the women’s first internationals staged on the African continent since the Covid-19 pandemic disrupted global football calendars.

“Cosafa has aligned its Covid-19 media process for the upcoming Senior Women’s Championship and Under-17 Women’s Championship with hosts being the South African Football Association (Safa), who have vast experience having formulated the plan for the restart of their domestic Premier Soccer League in August.

“These protocols have been put in place to ensure that the number of individuals at the match venues does not exceed the recommended amount for safe return to play in the time of Covid-19. No media will be allowed into the match venues, which means no accreditation for foreign or local journalists,” said Cosafa in a statement.

“Cosafa has appointed a photographic agency to have one photographer present per match, and these images will be syndicated via our media distribution platform. Cosafa will use the same platform to distribute pre-match content, as well as text-based wraps of all the match-days. Post-match press conferences with both coaches will be available via Zoom.

A link for this will be sent to the media who register. Matches at the Cosafa Women’s Championship are set to be televised, the details of which will be announced in due course. Games at the Cosafa Women’s Under-17 Championship will be available via streaming on Cosafa.TV <http://COSAFA.TV>. Cosafa will also be supplying video content around general interviews and CSI initiatives that will be supplied rights-free for use,” further read the statement.

Under the mentorship of Sithethelelwe “Kwinji 15” Sibanda, Zimbabwe will take on hosts South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Comoros Islands, Malawi, East African guest nation Tanzania and Zambia in the Cosafa women’s senior.

South Africa are six-time winners of the Cosafa Women’s Championship and will be the defending champions again after claiming the last three tournaments’ top accolades.

The side is also still basking from the achievement of qualifying for a first ever Fifa Women’s World Cup in 2019 as the game in the country continues to make steady strides and break new boundaries.

The Mighty Warriors won the Southern African championship in 2011 and also qualified for the Olympic Games football tournament in Brazil in 2016.

Share This:

Sponsored Links