All eyes on Egypt as Afcon qualifiers end

29 Mar, 2019 - 00:03 0 Views
All eyes on Egypt as Afcon qualifiers end


Benin, the Democratic Republic of Congo, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe secured places on the final day of Africa Cup of Nations qualifying to complete the 24-team line-up for the tournament in Egypt on Sunday.

In total, four teams qualified for the Cosafa region: Angola, Namibia, SA and Zimbabwe.

In Harare, Khama Billiat scored direct from a free-kick and Knowledge Musona punished careless defending to give Zimbabwe a 2-0 Group G victory over Congo-Brazzaville.

DR Congo finished runners-up, thanks to a 1-0 home win over Liberia in Kinshasa, with China-based Cedric Bakambu netting seven minutes into the second half.

Benin needed one point to go through with Algeria from Group D, but took all three points against Togo where Steve Mounie from Huddersfield Town scored on 83 minutes for a 2-1 victory.

David Djigla gave Benin an early lead in Cotonou and former Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor levelled 19 minutes from time.

Tanzania hammered previously unbeaten and already qualified Uganda 3-0 in Dar es Salaam to secure second place in Group L ahead of Lesotho a, who could only draw 0-0 in Cape Verde.

Saimon Msuva broke the deadlock midway through the first half before a 60,000 crowd as Denis Onyango conceded his first goal of the six-match qualifying campaign.

Erasto Nyoni netted off a 50th-minute penalty to double the lead and Aggrey Morris scoring the third goal.

Egypt hold the record for Cup of Nations titles with seven and home advantage will ensure they are among the favourites to win the June 21-July 19 tournament.

List of the qualified teams:

Senegal, Madagascar, Morocco, Cameroon, Mali, Burundi, Algeria, Benin, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Angola, Mauritania, Tunisia, Egypt, Guinea Bissau, Namibia, Uganda, Tanzania, South Africa, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe. – AFP

Share This:

Sponsored Links